The RAFTS Invasive Species and Biosecurity Programme is the first initiative to attempt to tackle biosecurity issues at the local level over a large geographic area. The Programme is implemented by RAFTS through 20 of its member trusts whose areas of operation cover over 80% of Scotland.


  1. Argyll Fisheries Trust
  2. Ayrshire Rivers Trust
  3. Clyde River Foundation
  4. Cromarty Firth Fisheries Trust
  5. River Dee Trust
  6. Deveron, Bogie & Isla Rivers Charitable Trust
  7. Forth Fisheries Foundation
  8. Galloway Fisheries Trust
  9. Kyle of Sutherland Fisheries Trust
  10. Lochaber Fisheries Trust
  11. Loch Lomond Fisheries Trust
  12. Ness & Beauly Fisheries Trust
  13. Spey Research Trust
  14. Tay Foundation
  15. Tweed Foundation
  16. West Sutherland Fisheries Trust
  17. Wester Ross Fisheries Trust
  18. Outer Hebrides Fisheries Trust
  19. River Don Trust
  20. Esks Rivers and Fisheries Trust

Key outputs and actions of the first stage (2008-2011) of the Programme are the:

  • Production of biosecurity plans for 20 member trusts, and
  • Implementation of key actions within those plans in a number of areas
  • Local reporting and surveillance systems to detect the introduction and monitor the spread of INNS and to report relevant information to national and UK based authorities
  • Local rapid response protocols to contain, control and eradicate new populations of selected INNS [click here to see which species] in the Trusts’ areas. These protocols will deal with newly detected incidences of INNS that are already established in GB and that will not trigger the GB rapid response mechanism
  • Local and national awareness activities
  • Local capacity building particularly training

Three biosecurity plans will be produced during 2008-2009 with a further 11 in 2009-2010 and the final six in 2010-2011.




Argyll Fisheries Trust

Deveron, Bogie and Isla Fisheries Trust

The Esks Rivers and Fisheries Trust

Ayrshire Rivers Trust

Cromarty Firth Fisheries Trust

River Dee Trust

Kyle of Sutherland Fisheries Trust

Lochaber Fisheries Trust

Ness and Beauly Fisheries Trust

Outer Hebrides Fisheries Trust

Spey Research Trust

West Sutherland Fisheries Trust

Wester Ross Fisheries Trust

Clyde River Foundation

River Don Trust

Forth Fisheries Foundation

Galloway Fisheries Trust

Loch Lomond Fisheries Trust

Tay Foundation

Tweed Foundation


Comments are closed.